That’s that.

Welp, it’s me again.

It is still hard to come to terms with the fact that yes, I like to blog and write but at the same time I almost don’t miss it. Don’t get me wrong, the space this little blog provided, that outlet, that connection was all amazing. But the spending nights and free time feeling like I had to blog was not the greatest. It is funny because I have a handful of people saying WHAT you stopped blogging, but why. You need to go back. Then I have people that say – I mean now you are living life and not just writing about it. Truth.

This isn’t a comeback but today I wanted to to write. So why not write? Plus a lot of ‘new’ has taken place. Where to begin…

  • I got a huge promotion. Yes I will be thrown into totally new waters for me but this is what I have been working my tail off of for the past 11 months. Technically it is confidential but I know you all won’t tell. This new job is a leap but a crazy, amazing, can’t freaking wait leap. I begin transitioning in June. I just found this news out yesterday so the shell shocked feeling is still there. Pinch me.
  • Body pump certification is kicking my butt in all the right ways. Today I interview with the gym manager to be hired there. Sunday I am taping and can’t believe the amazing support I have of friends who are willing to take the hour long class I will be teaching. I get such an energy from teaching, this high I can’t even describe.
  • Early mornings are still my jam. Even better, they are lighter now so I dig hitting the pavement at what some would call an ungodly hour. Good news? Now that I don’t work weekends I get to have more buddy run times making the weekday solo miles not that bad. Oh and that marathon in October… haven’t even thought about a training plan… whoops.
  • I realize it is nice to be recognized. I have never been one who likes attention. I am that silent hard worker that steps up when the time is right but doesn’t need that recognition to do well. Lately in my job I have been getting a lot of pats on the back – from many unexpected high figures in the firm. Nothing feels better.
  • My running store friends always have my back. I think a part of me was still worried as I left the store our friendship would fizzle. Anything from that. We are constantly in contact and I can’t thank them enough for getting me through some nasty boy problems.
  • I quit birth control. Sorry probably should have prefaced that as TMI. I had only been on it for five months because I was having very painful periods. Not fun. However, I was getting pretty nasty side effects – the whole puffy face, swelling in hands (couldn’t even bend them) and water retention. I decided to quite cold turkey this week and already notice such a difference. My body was just not jiving with it. At all.
  • I am going home for the fourth. My firm actually gets most of that week off as a gift to the company (along with half days on Fridays in July!). I haven’t been home since Christmas. HELLO. Far too long.
  • Getting to hang out with my mom this past weekend in Charleston was soul soothing. We walked almost every morning chatting about life and everything in between. I miss mom time far too much.
  • I am on book 55 since January 1st. You could say I am still reading up a storm.

So ya. Life is changing but again a change I am starting to welcome. Don’t know when I will be back but maybe the urge to write will hit again soon. I do miss you all. I still read. Every day. You all know where to find me.

Question: what is one update on your life? 

49 responses to “That’s that.

  1. SO many exciting things happening for YOU!!! So happy for you!

  2. This is all so great. I’ve been toying with a blog break (or permanent break). Congrats on the promotion and bodypump! You’re a rockstar. This is seriously inspiring. I feel like I’ve been at my job for awhile and just haven’t grown or given the opportunity to. It’s time for a change. GO YOU

  3. Wow this is an incredible update!! Congrats on your promotion and Body Pump cert! I recently got certified in Body Pump too and I AM LOVING IT. :) Life is going so great it seems!! :)

  4. Good to hear from you hun! Sounds like you’ve been busy but good! Congrats on the promotion :) Very well deserved! What marathon are you running??

  5. <3 <3 <3 yay
    HUGE congrats on the promotion, that is amazing and wonderful. You deserve it! I'm so glad to hear everything is going well for you. Even though this isn't a comeback, it's nice to get this little check-in.
    Also, you'll have to let me know when you do start teaching body pump and the location/times. I'm heading to DC at the end of July to visit Kaitlyn and would love to take your class/meet you.

    • Ahhh I totally will. I actually think I will be teaching some classes at the Gold’s right near where she will be. I will keep you in the loop for sure. And we should certainly grab lunch or dinner when you are here.

  6. Yayy life sounds so good! Congrats to you. I feel like blogging should always serve a positive purpose, and it seems like you’ve got plenty of the positive vibes rollin right now.

    On a book related note, do you have a goodreads account? It’s so fun to keep track of books you read, especially when you’re in a zone. Such a fun site.

  7. Sophie @ life's philosophie

    Book 55? Excuse me? I’m on book umm 3 maybe. I’m terrible at reading! Can you read for me? Congrats on the promotion. SO excited for your class :)

  8. So many awesome things to comment on here! Obviously a huge congrats on the promotion! I know how hard you work at your job, so that is 100% deserved. I’ve never taken a Body Pump class in my life, but if I found my way down to DC I’d take one from you ;-)

  9. that’s awesome!!! congrats on the promotion…sounds like a lot of good things happening for you!
    biggest thing in my life…I got engaged a month ago, so planning a wedding!

  10. Miss hearing from you, hun! But happy to hear that things have been going well for you :) Congrats on the promotion, and fingers crossed that things just keep getting better from here!

    • Let’s hope so too. People laugh because I tend to get good things to happen and then something bad will sprinkle in (massive rash from my antibiotics lol) but you know that is just how life works sometimes

  11. Just want to point out that you missed a golden opportunity to title this post “Don’t Call It A Comeback.” (I really like to breakdance to that song, and now it’ll be stuck in my head for the remainder of the day. Excellent.)

    WOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOO congrats on the promotion, girl!!!!! I’m seriously so stoked for you. It seemed like you really wanted this, and from what I’ve picked up it seems like you’ve been killing it at your job, so there’s no doubt in my mind that you totally deserve this :D Hooray hooray hooray! And speaking of your job uhhhhh WAY jealous that you get the entire week of the Fourth off. I bet you’re going to have an awesome time at home. And half day Fridays! Man. Sign me up for a position at your company. Do they have a Chicago office? Because I’d be all over that. And then we could practically be work twins :P

    Marathon training: Hal Higdon. I don’t know if training plans are really your thing, but seriously girl, 26.2 is no joke. Not a BS-able race, at least not if you want to not feel like you’re legitimately going to die. Believe in Hal! He’ll get you to the start and finish lines! For you, I recommend Novice 2: http://www.halhigdon.com/training/51138/Marathon-Novice-2-Training-Program. Plus Hal Higdon programs are basically what CARA gives us for our Chicago training, so we can follow almost identical programs *peer pressure*

    Hmmmm an update on my life. I’ve fallen in love with yoga. CorePower = <3. I have a free month there and am taking as much advantage of it as I can (because once that month is up, ain't no WAY I'm setting foot in CorePower again, unless I become a billionaire. Waaaaaaay too expensive for me, thanks).

    • You totally nailed that training plan. Logan introduced me to it. Honestly sounds like a good idea but I feel like mentally I need to do the longer runs. Because I have never gone above 14 miles. And yes there is a Chicago office. My coworker is actually moving there for his new job.

  12. Congrats on the promotion! And HOLY SHIT 55 books since January! That crazzyyyy awesome! How often do you read?!

  13. congrats on the promotion!! Please move to Fairfield CT and teach body pump, I will come to all of your classes I promise!!

  14. I could not be happier. You seem so much happier. Though I miss your blog and chatting I am always here for you!

  15. ALEX, YAYA! CONGRATULATIONS! So glad to hear you’re busy, making moves, and loving life.

  16. Karey at Nutty About Health

    Wow, congrats on all of the wonderful happenings in your life!! I’m so happy for you with the promotion & that you’re going to be teaching Body Pump – how awesome!! I would totally take your class, if only I lived anywhere near you! I bet you’re going to be amazing!! :)

  17. Great to see so much goodness happening to ya buddy!

  18. You have so many good things happening!!! So proud of you for the body pump and promotion! Keep on keeping on, girlfriend!

  19. You have a lot of wonderful things going on right now :) That’s really great to hear. Congrats on your promotion! Also, 55 books this year? I thought I was killing it with 26 – nice work lady!!

  20. Miss your face, but glad you’re enjoying life!!

  21. TMI but I am seriously considering going off birth control soon. I’m not sure how much longer I can roll with the havoc it is likely wreaking on my poor hormones. Congratulations on the promotion, girl!

  22. Congratulations on the promotion!!! :) It sounds like things are going so well for you! YAY!!! (And I totally agree with birth control. I hated being on it too…).

  23. congrats on everything girl!! I’m so excited for you! I can’t do BC either… it makes me evil. So glad to have an update on you!

  24. I miss reading your blog posts! Glad to hear all the good things going on with ya and congrats on that promotion girl!!

  25. Aww I just read your post. I am slowing down my blogging too to 2 times a month because I just got SO overwhelmed at the thought of blogging weekly… its just a lot of work developing a recipe, photographing and it writing it up plus all the social media that goes with it. I hate to just come up with recipes or posts for the sake of fulfilling a weekly post. Anyways, wish you all the best with your work and endeavors :)

  26. So many amazing things happening for you! :) hope you enjoyed your trip home and well done on the new job!

Leave a Reply

